Magpul MS1 Sling

IMG_6001

In the past, I hadn’t ever paid a whole lot of attention to the Magpul MS series slings for a variety of reasons. I’m not a fan of single point slings so the MS 2/3’s 2 to 1 point convertibility was of no use to me, nor were the hooks/clips/rings that went along with the convertibility. I also never cared for the loop pull sling length adjuster as it always seemed to be a snag hazard. Combine that with a price slightly higher than your basic BlueForce Gear Vickers sling and the Magpul slings didn’t make my radar.

IMG_6143

That changed recently while ordering some AR parts from one of my go to AR parts vendors.  In need of another sling, I clicked on their sling page. Seeing they didn’t carry my standby BFG Vickers sling, but wanting to order everything from one place to save on shipping, I checked out the other slings available. That’s when I noticed Magpul had introduced another sling called the MS1. Upon seeing it was a dedicated 2 point sling lacking all the hooks/snaps/rings, the loop pull had been replaced by a plastic slider, and it was priced quite economically I thought what the hell, let’s try it out.

IMG_6002

Upon receiving the sling I found it to be a fairly straightforward 2 point design featuring the sling strap, three tri sliders and the plastic length adjuster. It seems well made and the stitching looks good.   A digital scale shows it to weigh 5.9 oz not counting the Magpul Paraclip I added.  Also immediately apparent upon handling the MS1 is the strap is made of a much softer and more flexible material than the BFG Vickers sling.

IMG_6047

IMG_6046

IMG_6051

IMG_6064

IMG_6058

At 1.5″ wide the MS1 is also slightly wider than the BFG Vickers, with its 1.25″ width.

IMG_6003

IMG_6072

IMG_6075

IMG_6077

I added the Magpul Paraclip as an interim way to attach the front of the sling to the rifle until I get around to putting a rail on it.  As you can see I clip it to the factory front sling swivel.  It’s a quick and dirty way to attach the sling with a side mount orientation and not too much rattle.  It you’re ever in need of some type of hook or clip sling attachment I’d recommend trying them out.

IMG_6115

IMG_6067

IMG_6070

IMG_6068

IMG_6069

 

I’ve been using the sling for over a month now and have been pleased with its performance. The sling material doesn’t seem to bind, catch, or twist when donning/doffing or adjusting the sling. The length adjuster slides very smoothly, to the point I questioned if it would always hold tension or if I would find the sling slowly lengthening itself under weight. So far this has not been the case and the sling length adjuster has always held tight no matter its position. I will update if this starts becoming an issue.

IMG_1270

In summary while I wouldn’t necessarily say the MS1 is better than any other sling out there I would definitely say it is a solid choice and should be considered if you’re in the market for a sling. I plan on picking up a few more.

One thought on “Magpul MS1 Sling”

Leave a Reply

