Aimpoint VS. Eotech VS. ACOG. VS Aimpoint – Updated.

Aimpoint Eotech ACOG

An upper with no bolt carrier group was rested on wooden blocks.  Pictures were taken with a Samsung SIII.

100 Yards:

Eotech 552Eotech 552.  Reticle was hard to see.  Set to max brightness.

Aimpoint PROAimpoint PRO.  Reticle appeared clearer than in image.

Aimpoint T1Aimpoint T1

Trijicon ACOG TA01

ACOG TA01  Front sight base shadow was less visible then what the photograph shows.

200 Yards:

Eotech 552

Eotech 552.  At max brightness (with week old batteries) I could barely see the reticle at max brightness.

Aimpoint PRO

The Aimpoint PRO looked better then what the photo shows.

Aimpoint T1

Except for my finger in the picture, this photo well depicts the view thru the Aimpoint T1.

Trijicon ACOG TA01

The ACOG reticle was crisper then what the photo shows, and the front sight base shadow less apparent.

Tech Specs:

Aimpoint PRO – $400
11.6 oz
2 MOA Dot
One 3V 2L76 or DL1/3N
30,000 hours – about 3.4 years (@ setting 7 out of 10)
½ MOA clicks

Aimpoint T1 with mount LT660 – $650

3.7oz (not including mount)
4 (or 2) MOA Dot
One 3V CR2032
50,000 hours – about 5.7 years (@ setting 8 out of 12)
½ MOA clicks

Eotech 552 – $579

10.9 oz
1 MOA Dot, 65 MOA Ring
Two AA batteries
1,000 hours Lithium @ 12, 600 with alkaline (About 42 days) (@settings 12)
½ MOA clicks
 
Trijicon ACOG TA01
9.9 oz
Bullet Drop Calibrated Crosshair
No batteries
Tritium half-life ~12 years.
1/3 MOA click

Aimpoint VS. Eotech VS. ACOG VS. Aimpoint

I rounded up an Aimpoint PRO, Aimpoint T1 (4 MOA), an Eotech 552, and a Trijicon ACOG TA01 for a side to side comparison.  To try and get an unbiased opinion, I had a friend use all 4 optics on the same firearm, shooting both groups and assorted drills.

Comparing reflex sights to magnified optics is like comparing motorcycles to semi-trucks, but the subject is of much debate online.  The simple answer is that you need to select the optic that best suits your needs.

I had my friend start off by shooting groups at 25 yards.  His groups with iron sights and all the reflex sights were about the same.  However when he used the ACOG the group tightened up considerably.  I believe that because of having magnification and a crosshair that he slowed down and focused on the shooting fundamentals.

At this point my friend most preferred the ACOG.  After using the ACOG my friend stated, “This is more of a traditional scope, not a reflex or an ACOG.”  I proceeded to tease my friend about this statement for the rest of the day.

As for the reflex sights, my friend preferred the Aimpoint T1 the most, and the Eotech the least.  This Eotech had week old batteries and even at max brightness was hard to see in the Florida sunlight.  I must note that this is an older Eotech and newer ones may be brighter.

After the grouping exercise I had my friend practice bringing a rifle up from a ready position and engaging multiple locations on a target at 10 yards.  I started my friend with iron sights, then had him try the various optics.  I was surprised that for my friend, he found the ACOG faster and more comfortable for quick shooting.  Both the Aimpoint PRO and T1 were about the same, and the Eotech was still disliked due to it being dim and the reticle being cluttered.

Tried variations of multiple targets, and shooting left handed.  All the same results.  Trying to shoot left handed for my friend was awkward regardless of optic, but the reflex sights seemed to help.

While I was at the range, I got the chance to talk to a former Army officer and had him look over the various optics.  Without shooting with them, he came to the same conclusion that my friend did.  The Aimpoint T1 was the preferred optic, with the PRO being second choice.  The Eotech was disliked due to being dim.  My friend thought the Eotech reticle was cluttered and preferred just the dot in the reflex sights.  While they both liked the ACOG, both would have taken an Aimpoint over it.

When I asked about the difference in dot sizes or window size preferences, neither my friend nor the former Army officer noticed a difference, but they both liked the Aimpoint T1 better.

Personally, I used to be a big Eotech fan but then I had mine fail me.  Eotech’s record of failures keeps me from being able to like them anymore.  While I much prefer the Aimpoint T1, I highly recommend the Aimpoint PRO as the economical optic choice.  There are few bigger ACOG fans then myself, but I don’t believe that the ACOG is the right optic for most shooters, and that for the majority of people who plan to use their carbine as a home defense or close range firearm are better suited with a good Aimpoint over a magnified optic ACOG.

19 thoughts on “Aimpoint VS. Eotech VS. ACOG. VS Aimpoint – Updated.”

  1. Very Informative.

    Imagine, the ridicule in preferring a dead battery hologram over a bright reticle. Imagined all your thinly-veiled, biased butt hurt. Ah ha ahhhhhhaaaa.

  2. Very thoughtful and clear explanations with very valid points. Thank you for this informative review

  3. Great write up. I’ve done my own comparison here, and my thoughts are to go with the EOTech against the Aimpoint. I don’t like comparing the ACOG against the two because of the magnification.

  4. There is a lot of debate out there about whether or not the military/law-enforcement version of the EOTech HOLO sight is worth the extra hundred bucks or so. I have multiple of the 552.A65 sights and they put up with a lot of punishment. They’re very impact resistant, so you can bang them around a bunch and the reticle stays exactly where you set it. I’ve never owned one of the civilian models, but out of the 3 mil/LE models I have, they have never slipped. I hear colleagues talk about their civilian models having to be re-zeroed after impact. If you’re depending on your sight out in the field, shock/impact resistance is critical. Additionally, it takes AA batteries. There is a lot of debate between AA versus CR-123, but in many countries and rural areas, you might have some trouble finding CR-123 batteries. AA batteries are sold pretty much anywhere that batteries can be bought.

  5. The EOTech must have been on brightest night vision mode. A holographic image doesn’t get washed out because it’s nut being projected onto a lens in the same way as a red dot. EOTechs are known for excelling over Aimpoints in bright sunlight…unless, of course, you are using it in night vision mode…

    1. I later found out that this particular Eotech may have lost its nitrogen purge, thus leading it to be very dim.

      Eotechs are normally a good bit brighter, but still, I have owned three, and all three have broken. I can not, and will not recommend them.

  6. You must really hate EOTech to try and bash them about not being bright enough. I can point mine straight into the Texas Sun and still see it, my EOTech EXPS2-2 Rocks!!!

    1. Now I believe that Eotech lost its nitrogen purge, causing it to be very dim. I think that is another perfect example of the flaws of their sights, not including the wandering zeros, parallax shifts, etc that L3 settlement covered.

  7. Send the eotech back. They have a problem with them not achieving full brightness and will repair it for free or at least they did mine after 6 years.

  8. Then and than do not mean the same thing, and are not, interchangeable. Just saying. If, you are going to be a writer, you must correct this. Thanks, for sharing your friend’s opinion, though. I’m still not sure how he went from liking the, ACOG, in all of the tests more(except left-handed), THEN, came to the conclusion that the Willing was better. You gave no basis for his opinion, as to, why it was the better choice. Because, from what I gathered, during testing, he liked the ACOG better. I am left curious….

  9. I think I know what the author meant, but there is a difference between week old batteries, and weak, old batteries.

    1. Yes, there is a difference.
      In this case, what was said is correct. Those batteries had come out of a package about a week prior.

      I keep an old 553 around to show people why they shouldn’t buy an Eotech. I have to keep the battery compartment off it as it will drain a new battery quickly even when turned off.

Leave a Reply

